ANC declared winners of 2014 elections

Voters at Engen Garage in Countryview on lever Road

“Tonight we reveal months of hard work by the IEC, security forces, the media and others,” he said at the ceremony.

Tselane admitted to the the elections not being perfect and promised to look into the issue to find how the IEC can improve the process.

According to a survey referenced by Tselane, 95.7 percent of voters were satisfied that their vote was secret and the procedure followed was free and fair.

Tselane also stated that this was the best run election to date before he handed over to Pansy Tlakula.

Tlakula then declared the results for the election.

In Gauteng the ANC won majority, but five parties won seats in provincial legislature. The IFP won one seat, the VF Plus also one, the EFF won eight seats, the DA 23 and the AND 40.

The national assembly looks as follows: one seat to ACP, one to PAC, two to Agang SA, three to ACDP, three to Cope, four to UDM, four to VF Plas, six to NFP, 10 to IFP, 25 to EFF, 89 to DA and 249 to ANC.

A record number of 29 parties contested these elections. “Congratulations to all contesting parties and to those who won seats,” said Tlakula.

“Millions have spoken eloquently on who should govern our country,”said President Jacob Zuma. Ï am humbled that they have again chosen the ANC.


Latest News


Recommended Story x
ANC calls for Mashaba to step down